• threelonmusketeers@sh.itjust.works
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    54
    ·
    5 days ago

    If the range of Bless is 30ft and the Cleric is 30ft in the air, then any non-zero horizontal distance would technically put them out of range. You don’t need to calculate that they are 36.06ft away to know if they are out of range or not.

    • Archpawn@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      25
      ·
      4 days ago

      Except the game uses Chebyshev distance, so as long as they’re within 30 feet in the x, y, and z dimensions, they’re within 30 feet.

      Though for area damage spells, it’s much, much more complicated. You don’t just have to find the Euclidean distance from them to the center. You have to calculate how much of their square is within that distance.

      • Zagorath@aussie.zone
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        3
        ·
        4 days ago

        Though for area damage spells, it’s much, much more complicated.

        That’s an optional variant rule described in Xanathar’s Guide. The default rule for grids is simpler: just do Chebyshev.