I’m the kind of person that doesn’t even hear lyrics in music, game voice logs might as well be white noise to me. On the other hand, when the scene tells a story without words and you have to connect the dots yourself, I find that satisfying. Even basic examples like a corpse reaching toward the glowing red button.
- 2 Posts
- 269 Comments
themoken@startrek.websiteto
World News@lemmy.world•Poll: Trump era tilts US allies toward BeijingEnglish
5·8 days agoNot that these are wrong, but I wonder about recency bias. Have these indicators been trending downward for 20 years, or is this just a response to our current crop of morons?
If Obama v2 was elected tomorrow, would these instantly reverse, like the international opinion seemed to when he took over from W?
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Star Trek Social Club@startrek.website•Episode Discussion | Star Trek: Starfleet Academy | 1x10 "Rubincon"English
7·10 days agoGreat episode, great finale, really strong first season. I had issues with some episodes trying to do too much in too little time, but for the last two episodes the writers focused on one story and did a damn good job tying up the season arc. Can’t wait to see where the show goes next season.
The one criticism I have of the finale, and literally everywhere else it comes up in new era Trek is: Stop moving the camera so fucking much! It’s unnecessary and really takes me out of it when the camera is wiggling back and forth, or spinning around in an arc, or acting like an unstable drone during the trial portion (particularly at the end). I want to drink in what’s going on, not be trying to puzzle out WTF I’m looking at, especially when stream compression turns a lot of motion into blurry pixels.
A little shaky cam when things are intense or exploding, sure, but overall I wish it was shot in a more conventional style.
Imo’s in St. Louis is my favorite overall. Thin, crispy crust, square cut, Provel as the base cheese. It scratches an itch that all other pizzas don’t. I’d eat it 7 days a week if I could, hot or cold.
I’ve had pizzas with superior ingredients, made in fancy ovens, served with wine instead of cold beer, but if I could get any pizza right now, it’d be Imo’s black olive or veggie pizza.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Science Memes@mander.xyz•if you google Chicxulub (the dinosaur killing space rock) a meteor will fly across your screenEnglish
1482·14 days agoNot to be too much of a downer, but all of these cute Google search results and other “quirky” “fun” things billion dollar corporations do used to seem so harmless but now it just reads like a friendly logo on a baby mulching machine.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Progressive Politics@lemmy.world•Trump says he won’t sign any bills into law until SAVE America Act passes
20·15 days agoBecause they took their husband’s family name, which probably doesn’t match their birth certificate.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
TenForward: Where Every Vulcan Knows Your Name@lemmy.world•Well, it's been 1.7 seconds from our initial hail, so they're clearly refusing to respond
6·15 days agoI’ve always thought about that. There must be some quirk of how subspace comms work that makes it obvious when someone is aiming a message at you.
The real thing that gets me is how do view screens work? That would seem to require a shared format to encode/decode.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Lefty Memes@lemmy.dbzer0.com•Linux rules! How do you like my desktop?English
2·19 days agoOh, that’s interesting. It is pretty distinct.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Lefty Memes@lemmy.dbzer0.com•Linux rules! How do you like my desktop?English
4·19 days agoLike the energy, but Comic Sans is also a war crime.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
News@lemmy.world•Texas votes in high-stakes primaries in test of appetite for change under Trump
7·20 days agoHave some links for the manipulation? I don’t think the Republicans really want to see either of them, frankly but I like Crockett.
Depends on the players. Some want to play pretend. Some want to play XCOM with dice.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
TenForward: Where Every Vulcan Knows Your Name@lemmy.world•One positive to take from an otherwise dismal episode
26·21 days agoThat’s hilarious. I will admit, as a rank amateur writer, that reading or watching some absolute crap is more motivating than something complex and good.
Thinking “shit, man, I could do better than that” is a powerful force.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
TenForward: Where Every Vulcan Knows Your Name@lemmy.world•She sticks to her convictions
6·22 days agoI liked Lower Decks contribution to this debate. Maybe with one merge it’s debatable, but beyond that the answer becomes clearer.
As for the Voyager game, it’s not elaborated on. Tuvix is a pretty good hero, has both the Talaxian and Vulcan traits, comes in real handy on some away missions, but it may be better to have separate Tuvok and Neelix to hold down two stations instead of one. Still debatable, but the way the game works the story doesn’t really adapt to it.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Star Trek Social Club@startrek.website•Episode Discussion | Star Trek: Starfleet Academy | 1x08 “The Life of the Stars”English
8·24 days agoI don’t have any issue with seeing young adults growing and dealing with trauma. This episode has a lot of pieces working together in the overall storyline, I just don’t think it was that compelling within the episode.
The drama class half of the episode didn’t really go off. Maybe because I only know the play from what the episode told me about it, but I think it’s more like the actual growth part got cut off. We spend time with drunk Tarima (yawn) and then short cut the cadets actually performing the play with each other. That would have been the climax of that story, them getting into character, relating to it, working through it and reaching some sort of understanding or catharsis but that scene gets hand waved. Probably needed a full 45 minutes to do right too.
Or the Sam story, which was closer to the mark but still failed to create tension or consequences and ended up getting resolved neatly with a happy ending. Give Sam half an episode to be dead, for people to be sad, and the Doctor half an episode to reflect on it, resolving to do better before tying it up with a bow and it could have been great.
I love that the show isn’t constantly balls to the wall action and we’re getting a lot of character focus but the story juggling bit this episode in the ass and it isn’t the first to be trying to do too much and fumble the execution.
themoken@startrek.websiteto
Star Trek Social Club@startrek.website•Episode Discussion | Star Trek: Starfleet Academy | 1x08 “The Life of the Stars”English
5·24 days agoYeah, I think this one didn’t come together as well as it could have. Should have focused on the Sam story more and done more to make it feel like she was in real danger. When she was dead I involuntarily yelled “yeah right!”. Lo and behold a minute later it’s resolved happily. The drama class and Caleb/Tarima story could have more easily been cut short without losing anything.
Probably one of the worst eps, but I’m happy to say that’s actually a pretty high bar for this show so far and this is more meh than truly bad (here I’m flashing back to like 20 different Discovery episodes where the episode ended and I was tearing my hair out over how stupid they were - that’s the real trauma here)
Also happy to speculate that, with two episodes left, the pendulum seems likely to swing back to excitement next week and I’m here for it.
Sure, I didn’t mean to post this at you or anything, the topic is just something I wrestle with on occasion and don’t really have a better answer for.
I am an anarchist, but prison is something that’s really hard to abolish entirely. Yes, you can eliminate huge amounts of “criminal” behavior by reorganizing society to be more just and less brutal, and I believe incarceration should be incredibly rare compared to other forms of correction repairing ones relationship with the community.
But in practice, without some form of incarceration, how do you deal with people who are acting against your society, and also have no stake in it? You can’t force them to make reparations, and if you exile them, they just go back to actively work against you.
What should the CNT-FAI have done with fascist POWs instead?







Take that! In 20 or 30 years…