• 3 Posts
  • 198 Comments
Joined 3 years ago
cake
Cake day: June 25th, 2023

help-circle



  • I wouldn’t fully agree with that. There is some of that, but then also there’s very little historical record of poor people. Up until like 1850ish, only rich people could really read/write, and their books and correspondence is what a lot of historical research is based on. And the rich people themselves didn’t write about the filthy poors a lot. And there are historians that would very much like to study this topic, l but it’s exceedingly difficult for lack of resources.

    Now that said, there is quite a bit of bias still. Not just toward poor “unimportant” people, also towards women. E.g. Milan was ruled by the Visconti family, which was a powerful name back then. The last Visconti ruler died, leaving his son in law in power. He’s called “Francesco I Sforza” in most history books, even though Sforza was kind of a minor name back then, and he himself would sign letters with the Visconti last name of his wife, Bianca Maria Visconti. And even his sons (and I think Grandsons) would still use the Visconti name. But because 18th and 19th century historians thought it’s no good to refer to a man by the last name of his wife, and that the wife must have been unimportant anyways, this was the new Sforza reign, not the continued Visconti reign. But we have letters of her managing the whole city while he was off, of her disagreeing with him quite strongly and openly in letters, leading everything when her husband was ill, dealing with diplomacy and military affairs etc. So in a lot of ways they were reigning together, not one single strong man doing everything.

    There is a growing group of historians that do study these kinds of things and it is slowly shifting. And I don’t doubt that this also happens in regards to poor people, just less so due to lack of available sources. But of course there’s also institutional pushback, nationalistic infighting, funding being assigned based on biases etc. it’s not all rosy.

    And I’m no historian, so this in large part based on the “inventing the Renaissance” book by Ada Palmer(History professor at Uni Chicago and also a really good scifi writer). It’s an amazing read, not just about the period, the different power dynamics and personalities, stuff like homosexuality and atheism in the period etc., but in large part also on how historians work, how perceptions among historians changed through the ages, how some misconceptions (like “women aren’t important”) persisted for centuries. It’s without a doubt the best history book I read in a long time and I can’t recommend it highly enough.


  • I don’t even know that this is a scam, or just a very misguided attempt by someone to make nicer pictures of their place. At least going by the original posting, it could well be that it actually exists and is not a bad place. Not that I’d ever go for this. No reviews is probably the biggest other tell. It’s also on booking.com which magically mentions reviews from somewhere, though it says it got the listing from interhome, which does not have reviews. All very weird.

    In any case, I’ve reported it for inappropriate images, I wonder if anything will be done.

    Some of the other pictures are just as weird, e.g. all the reflections of the bathroom mirror just don’t make sense (in terms of brightness/clarity)

    [edit] They forwarded my concerns to the person who created the offering. Well, thanks for nothing.








  • It’s one of those things where as a tourist, you’re completely fine and don’t really notice the racism. And you probably won’t get assaulted because of your race.

    But the foreign sounding last name on your CV halves your chance of getting hired, servers at a restaurant will address your white friends first when taking an order, your chance of getting the apartment you applied for is lower (unless it’s in the one part of town where all the foreigners live, since they don’t get white applicants) etc. And a lot of europeans are completely oblivious to this.

    And you still have police shooting unarmed black people, that kind of stuff, it’s just way less prevalent and the media does not talk about it and there’s no huge protests.





  • heck if anything, the Fediverse, as it is right now, is more susceptible to this. You can spin up spam instances on new domains, with spam users, and have them federate to existing instances, faster than volunteer run instances can ban/defederate.

    So you end up with not federating by default, but having some trusted web of instances that federate and maybe an approval process for new instances to federate with? But that’ll still lead to centralization with “trusted” instances and new instances having a hard time to join the club (there’s also the scaling problem of the fediverse, but that’s besides the point). So you end up with a few very big instances and the owners of those instances having all the power. Or maybe small isolated islands of mutually trusting instances? Still better than tech oligopoly, but also a far cry from the original dream.






  • It’s a symptom of the times. Saw an ad earlier this week “tired, stressed? This will rob your body of important nutrients, get this vitamin pill to replenish them!”. Instead of reducing stress.

    Somehow, maybe through the societal focus on individualism, we’ve gotten to this point where it’s all the individuals fault. It’s all about doing whatever it takes to get ahead, screw your body and peers, if you can’t take it, you’re too weak and a loser. But we’ll sell you products to cope! And people internalize this, are proud of working more efficiently at the cost of their health. That’s the really sad part, many actually start wanting this.

    The system actively works against people and tries to train them to yearn for more of the same.