

I hear you. I am 100% an advocate for better street design.
What I’m trying to tell you that it’s more complicated than you’re making it out to be. Especially in this specific instance. And yes, it may have been made to sheer off but that doesn’t really change they were going I believe 70+ in a resedential area. There are muni tracks in the middle of the road which makes it quite wide and it’s a big long curve.
Honestly and truly I believe the driver must have had a momentary old person ‘black out’ just slammed on the gas and was essentially unconscious. We’ll never truly know. Putting up a concrete barrier could have prevented this. But I would never look at the exact stretch and direction of road and think, yes, this is going to be a hazard. Obviously it was and needs to change, but my point is that the driver here is at fault and should never be behind a wheel again.
The city immediately after this made a bunch of changes to the area. Changes I imagine they’d been wanting to make for a while. But the changes never impacted the direction / route this car was going. So that makes no sense to me. They fixed nothing that would have changed what happened here.











It’s I believe insane. They were able to keep driving while awaiting sentencing, and it just gets reinstated once the suspension is up. I thought it couldn’t be this on both counts, and was wrong. God things with cars are so fucking insane.